Shaky Beats 2017 Festival Review

Shaky Beats Music Festival 

Centennial Park – Atlanta, Georgia

By: William Perryman

          The second anniversary of Shaky Beats Music festival in Atlanta, Georgia was primed to be one of the premier electronic music festivals of the year. After a successful inaugural year, Shaky Beats Music Festival returned to Centennial Olympic Park May fifth through the seventh. The second annual festival boasted a stellar lineup including The Chainsmokers, Kaskade, Griz, Flosstradamus, Zeds Dead,  RL Grime, illienium, and many others. Based in the heart of downtown Atlanta with three stages, tons of art, loads of music, and thousands of music loving fans the festival put on an incredible show over 3 days.

SHAKYBEATS2017_0507_193920-7015_PP copy.jpg

After the first year, a lot of people were wondering if they could continue to provide such an exceptional experience. I had heard so many positive comments about the year before and I had built up such a high expectation that while traveling to the festival I worried that I would be disappointed. Would the weather hold off or would it be a downpour of rain like so many festivals before in Georgia had received? What would the stages be like? Would the performances be mind blowing? These questions and so many more ran through my head on the drive down

Getter_SHAKYBEATS2017_0507_183916-6240_PP copy.jpg

My festival experience began when I started my walk to the festival on Friday from the Marta station. I could hear the music far off in the distance and like gravity it drew everyone to the festival grounds. The closer I got to Centennial Park the louder it got and the more excited I was to see what Shaky Beats would be like. The moment that I took my first steps into Shaky Beats I could not help but just look around and take in the scenery and people that surrounded me. Centennial Park was incredible, it was filled with art, lights, food trucks, and massive stages. To look back at times and see the city of Atlanta around you, and then to turn back around and see the stages, artist, and lights brought on an awe-inspiring feeling.

Rezz_SHAKYBEATS2017_0507_191025-6F7A5406_DVP copy.jpg

In all my years of being involved with dance music and festivals, I have yet to experience a festival like this one. The attention to detail in every aspect of the festival was clear from your first second inside the festival to even the last second before you exited.  I was never left thinking at any point how I could improve the festival as almost every issue I could think of was taken care of. They had dozens of food options ranging from Tacos to BBQ to even Grilled Chesses. Every stage had an incredible amount of Lights and HD screens. Festival guest were showered in confetti and streamers during each show.  Everyone always had room to dance and enjoy the music. Overall the festival got great weather the last two days and with the small amount of rain on the first day I never saw any mud holes or damage to any of the grass. Even the lineup itself was incredible.

TheChainsmokers_SHAKYBEATS2017_0507_205335-1_CTL copy.jpg

The Lineup was filled plenty of new and veteran artist from all over the world. Artist like Youngbombs, Mija, Rezz, and Ekali all showed off their talents and represented great for the newer artist in the industry. Kaskade, Flosstradamus, Zeds Dead, and RL Grime brought the veteran aspect to the festival. Galantis, Boombox Cartel, Alison Wonderland, and Little Dragon showed off their sounds and represented well for the acts from different countries around the world. Every artist brought their own unique style to the festival and showed off the many different genres inside of EDM.

Kaskade_SHAKYBEATS2017_0506_221518-_PP copy

After my first experience at Shaky Beats in Atlanta I already can’t wait to return in the future. The festival lived up to every single one of my expectations from the food to the stage design to even the cleanliness. Shaky Beats made an example of how an event should be ran and I see a bright future for the festival.

 

Shaky Beats Social Media Info

FB: https://www.facebook.com/shakybeats/

Twitter: @shakybeats

IG: @shakybeats

Website: https://www.shakybeatsfestival.com

Photo Credit: aLIVE Coverage

FB: https://www.facebook.com/alivecoverage/

Twitter: @aLIVECoverage

IG: @alivecoverage

Website: http://www.alivecoverage.com/

