Palms Weak, Hands Sweaty, Knees Shaky, Mom’s Spaghetti

This is a big year for the Atlanta based music festival. Shaky Knees is celebrating its fifth year in business. The line up is stacked more than The Expendables part 7. Acts include LCD soundsystem, Slyvan Esso, Cage the Elephant, Dr. Dog, FIDLAR, and a list longer than I want to write here ( fortunately someone else did it for me https://www.shakykneesfestival.com/lineup/) This is my (probably entirely inaccurate) preview of 2017 Shaky Knees!

Now, I can not say that I will remember the entire weekend (It will be very hot, you see), but I would say that LCD Soundsystem is going to will put on a more than memorable

608734663DF00363_2016_Coach
LCD Soundsystem live

performance. They have been touring since they were reunited last year. The live material has a lot more depth than their in-studio work. There is something about the Rhythmic Chaos that accompanies a crowd. This isn’t even to mention the light show that will outshine all of the Atlanta skyline. I really hope that they have a giant disco ball. That would be amazing.

The Shins will be promoting their solid new Album ‘Heartworms’ This high energy album is a departure from their original half-nonsense lyrics, and cool tone. It is a the_shins_-_heartwormswelcome change and the energy will be reciprocated tenfold whenever this is played live. Otherwise I do hope that they play some of their original chill music, because from the incredibly high power acts I will need some time to regain my center and chill out (a tad).

Then I will be back to uber excited/ turbocharged for Cage the Elephant. This will be time number three seeing the band that got famous with their wicked ways. The first time at Bonnaroo was splendid, the second time, at live on the green in Nashville (If you live around there and haven’t gone shame on you) that was the best concert I’ve ever attended, and that is certainly high praise. I f37b52d5bc4dc35a8525575f36d247bdcrowd surfed to the front of the crowd with a purple mo-hawk that was quite awesome. Either way the energy that Cage inserts into all of their music is without a doubt some of the strongest rock that I’ve ever had the experience to enjoy. I am deeply excited to see how they do the stranger sides of ‘Tell me I’m Pretty’. I doubt that they will have any issues getting the entire crowd to erupt in a miasma of gesticulating bodies.

Then on our tour through the concerts we arrive at /FIDLAR and the Cloud Nothings. They both are west coast punk rock bands that give an interesting skate board sound to their shows. FIDLAR was a fantastic concert, but throughout it everyone spent most of the time crowd surfing, while fun

EVERYONE IS ONLY ALLOWED TO CROWD SURF ONCE  

(Other wise we all get tired of hauling the same drunk 3 people over and over)

In a larger setting the FIDLAR show will be extremely moshy and amazingly fun. That being said we shouldn’t count out the cloud nothings, they are up and coming but they a2170181931_10have a ton going for them. Young, hip, fresh, all those words for the new kids on the block. They got started with Wavves, so they had a massive leg up.

This is my pre-report from the station in Knoxville. Stay Tuned for my live edition of the WUTK Music blog next Monday after the festival. (Let’s hope I have something clever, legible, or cogent, written down)

Until then enjoy the first days of summer,

Love, Zeke Streetman

 

